I Love the Time of Year

As I wake up (begrudgingly) early this morning I am greeted by giggly boy in my bed cuddling close with cold little toes. I here the heater click on as I pull them close and we snuggle deep into the covers talking about the upcoming day with lots of fun activities in store for us. A visit from grandparents, a soccer game and a trip to the Pumpkin Patch. It’s Fall and there’s no denying it. And to make it even better it is a beautifully sunny, blue sky Saturday! With all the record breaking rain fall we’ve had of late the sun’s appearance just makes it all the better! Despite the bad weather I have been able to squeeze in some of my favorite shoots to date. I have awesome clients! I know that every photographer says that but mine are not only cute as a button they are happy and well behaved and do everything I ask of them. Well maybe not everything but close! I am a firm believer in that if you expect the kids to just sit and smile then you, as the parent, are going to be frazzled five minutes into the shoot. I usually let the children roam and explore the setting and get used to me, the camera and their surroundings. After I’m acquainted with your child I might start asking them to look my way or stand/sit somewhere specific but I really try not to force a situation. What I want to capture are those unplanned moments, sweet smile and reactions because seriously, if you ask your child to sit there and say “cheeeeeeeeeese” the end result is going to be something forced and contrived and that’s not what you are paying me for.

Here are a couple shots I’ve gotten lately that demonstrate what I’m talking about.

(I love it when the dads make a special effort to be there and get into the shoot!)

Father_son

template-1

C&E

I have had some great first birthday sessions and I love that the parents are bringing little cakes out for the babies to feast on. They turn out really cute!

C-template

11

When I work with siblings it’s definitely more challenging but if you let them be themselves and play off each other you can get one of a kind results.

4

IMG_0512

Girls-11

This works also one on one with each child.

9

TG-1

2

8

Once the kids are comfortable with me I can usually get shots like these.

4

sivils-3

4

6

Camille-3

I also like to capture shot when they are just being themselves.

Whether they’re being pouty…

ClairT-1

… or thoughtful

7

…or just being silly.

6

What I want to capture is little snap shot of the way you as the parent see and remember your children. I am loving the “imperfect” pictures more and more because they’re the ones where the personality shows through.

Well I have a ton more I want to show but it will have to wait.  Have a great weekend!

0 Responses to “I Love the Time of Year”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

