A New Era

Well for me it is. In a couple of weeks both my babies are going to be starting school. Lunden will be in Kindergarten and Bryce’s Pre-K. I know, I’m getting so old! DapperDan-1

Well, this new “era” is leaving me with more free time than I’ve had in 5 1/2 years!

“What are you going to do with all this time on your hands?” you ask.

Well… funny you should ask. Let me tell you, this is something that both Bart and I have been mulling over and praying about. It might seem obvious that I should devote myself to my photography but being self-employed offers no guarantees. There are several large items that the Lizenby family needs in the sometime near future and a bigger house is just one. With nothing tying me to the house I thought that it might be best to get a “real” job and, while not quitting photography entirely, I would put it on the back burner so-to-speak. I went so far as to apply and interview for a job. While I wasn’t totally thrilled with the idea of working (I love my life of leisure!) I was excited about being able to help move us closer to our financial goals. After the interview I was still torn as to whether or not I even wanted it. We were reassured in the knowledge of God’s divine providence and knew however it turned out it would be for our best.

Sooooo… it turned out that the job was offered to someone else. I cannot tell a lie; I was very relieved!

So now that brings us to now. I am going full force, forging ahead, taking the dive,  yada, yada,yada. I have had a fire lit under me to really try to make this work. I have been planted in front of the computer all week (and how my house has suffered for it!) working hard to get my brand new, shiny website up. It will feature new packages and pricing. I have also been working on a new logo which I’m hoping will help me with consistent branding of my work. I feel very blessed to have the best clients ever. Seriously, y’all have encouraged me and supported me when I’ve felt like a mom with a camera playing “photographer”.  As a thank you to you all I will be offering some promo specials so stay tuned for that!

Also as a sneak peak here is one of the new products I have been working on.

jlphotohat

hat back

2 Responses to “A New Era”


  1. 1 Ginnan Villareal July 26, 2009 at 3:58 am

    Jennifer~You go, girl! If I ever get all of my girls in this town at the same time, you are hired! I love the hat! I would wear it!! Best of luck! Keep the faith and know that the biggest house on the block doesn’t always spell h.a.p.p.y.! To quote one of my favorite songs, “But you know, love grows best in little houses,
    With fewer walls to separate,
    Where you eat and sleep so close together.
    You can’t help but communicate,
    Oh, and if we had more room between us, think of all we’d miss.
    Love grows best, in houses just like this.”
    Hope to see you at book club, I think it’s this week!

    Ginnan

  2. 2 Lisa July 26, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    Jen, I’m so proud of you! I love the hat too – I want one!!! Can’t wait to see all the wonderful things God has in store for you! You are very talented and I know you’re going to do so well!


Leave a Reply

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

